Travel Safety

General Advice

Travelling to another country can be a very worthwhile and fulfilling experience. Even if it's your first time to leave abroad or an occasional traveler, there are a few things that you need to take note to make your trip more comfortable and safer.

Before Traveling

Before you step out of the door for the trip, get familiar with the place where you are going to. Do a research online about the entry requirements, weather condition, food & water accessibility, transportation you need to use, safety and security, customs law and many more. You can also ask from your travel agency about any trip’s concern. 

Passports

Always carry a valid passport with you. Always check its expiry date versus your destination country’s passport validity requirements. If the destination country requires a visa, make sure that you have it secured few weeks or months before your trip schedule. Don’t forget to fill in the emergency information at the back of your passport. 

Emergency Contacts

Leave an emergency contact number, photocopy of your trip or itinerary, hotel contacts to your family or friends so at least they will know where to contact you during emergencies. If you have signed up for travel insurance, it is also advisable to inform them about it before you leave.

Mobile Phone

If you are planning to bring your local mobile number abroad, check in advance if it can work outside your country. Also make sure that you are familiar with the roaming charges involved when travelling abroad. 

Electrical Gadgets

Every country has their own kind of electrical sockets and plugs. Whether you are bringing a mobile phone, hair dryer, electric toothbrush, laptop, or shaver, make sure you have checked the plugs and purchase specialized adapters to allow you to connect your electrical equipment.

Money

Normally, international credit cards and debit cards are more advantageous than bringing physical money during the trip. Aside from the convenience in paying the bills, it is also easier for you to check your receipts when making claims for your travel insurance. Just take note that you inform your bank first about your travel. 

One the other hand, if you are traveling in remote areas, chances are those places won’t have automated teller machines. This would require you to bring a few amount of money in hand. Make sure that you have it converted to the currency of your destination country.

Health

Make sure that you have taken the proper vaccinations needed. If you have a pre-existing condition, it is advisable to get a photocopy of your updated medical prescription from your physician. If you are pregnant, take extra pre-cautions and make sure you follow your doctor’s travel advice. 

If you purchased travel insurance, make sure that you have read the policy wording agreement with regards to health coverage that they can give.

Safety

Always bear in mind that you need to take necessary precautions during your trip. To avoid being the target of crime, minimize wearing expensive jewelries or clothing and do not carry excessive amount of cash.

Luggage

What to put inside your luggage depends on the location of your destination. However, here are some basic things that you may include in your luggage:

  • Sunglasses
  • Eyeglasses, contact lenses
  • Jackets/sweaters
  • Extra batteries
  • Sun cream
  • Scarf
  • Map
  • Compass
  • Slippers
  • Flashlight
  • Cushion pillow
  • Mosquito repellant

Consulting Your Doctor

Why is it recommended for you to visit your doctor before you travel? It actually allows you to have an idea on what health concerns are you going to face when you are going away.

  • Vaccinations – your doctor can help get the right vaccines and medicines you or your kids may need for the travel. Just make sure that you provide all necessary information required. Their recommendations may vary depending on your health history or condition, age, which country you are traveling, length of the trip, activities you will involve during the trip and others.
  • Some of the immunizations include vaccines for influenza, typhoid, hepatitis, yellow fever, tetanus, meningitis, malaria, and many more. These are advantageous especially when you are traveling with kids.

Don’t hesitate to talk to your physician about your travel plans. He may give you additional health advice like buying mosquito repellent creams, sun protection products, ointments, etc. depending on season of the area you are going at. He will also guide you about the possible side effects of the medication you are taking.

While Taking the Plane

Taking the plane would be the most convenient way to move from one country to another. However, it can also be accompanied by discomfort at the same time. Two of the most conditions that passengers cannot avoid is having a jet lag and bloating.

Following some of these simple instructions may help feel more comfortable during a long flight. To avoid getting bloated, try to minimize consuming these foods and liquids.

  • Gas causing foods & drinks – these include soda, beans, chilies, chewing gums
  • Dehydrating drinks such as coffee and alcohol. It makes you feel uneasy when you are dehydrated
  • High-fat & high-sodium foods which they include French fries, burgers, burritos and many more. Because of the high altitude during the flight, our stomach finds it hard to digest these kinds of foods, which can lead to bloating
  • Fibrous fruits – these include apples and oranges as the most popular types. Too much fiber in foods can cause the stomach some indigestion. Additionally, these foods are high in vitamin c which means there is a certain amount of acid that can make us urinate more often.

During the flight

Make sure that you choose a good seat. If you are planning to sleep the whole time, the best place would be near the window. However if you want to have easy access to the toilet or you would love to stretch yourself regularly, it would be better to take the aisle seat.


The atmosphere in a flying airplane can be so dry. To combat that dryness, make sure that you rehydrate yourself regularly while on the flight. Drink plenty of water every 2 hours. If you are wearing contact lenses, remove it or use an eye drop solution regularly to humidify your eyes. 

Some people may experience air sickness such as dizziness, vomiting, and nausea. This is the reason why you need to bring some over-the-counter medications for prevent these problems. Read how to pack first-aid-kit. Additionally, avoid those foods being mentioned above. 

For a long flight, it would better if you carry neck pillows and an entertainment set with you. Additionally, you can also bring some chocolate bars for snacks, or bring a book to read.

When the plane has landed

Once the plane has arrived, take some rest and do some stretches on your body. It is going to be more uncomfortable if you travel on different time zones. Jet lag is unavoidable and the only thing you can do is to adopt the current environment. First, you just need follow your body clock’s eating and sleeping patterns until you slowly adjust. 

If problems persist, it is advisable to call your doctor. This is the time that you may need to use your travel insurance as they may assist you with your health issue.

Aged 18 to 85 years
Aged 60 days to 17 years
Asia
Worldwide (excluding North America)
Worldwide

Allianz contact Questions?
We’re here to help +852 8100 2402
Our promise to you

Our emergency assistance helpline is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited (“SCBHK”) is an insurance agent appointed by Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty SE Hong Kong Branch (“Allianz").

The above general insurance plan is underwritten by Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty SE Hong Kong Branch (“Allianz") which is a general insurer authorized and regulated by the Insurance Authority of the HKSAR. Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited ("SCBHK") is an insurance agent appointed by Allianz. To the extent permissible by law, SCBHK shall not be liable to any person for the use of any of the above information.

PCI compliant to secure payment

旅遊安全須知

一般建議

到海外旅遊是一個非常有價值及充實的體驗。無論您是不是第一次外出旅遊,請注意以下可以令您的旅程更加舒適和安全的事項。

出發之前

在出發之前,我們建議您先了解目的地的資訊,包括入境要求、天氣、飲食條件、交通安排,安全和保安及海關法例等。 您可以於網上或向您的旅行社查詢。

旅遊護照

請隨身攜帶有效護照。不要忘記檢查您護照的到期日子及目的地的護照有效期要求。 如目的地國家需要簽證,請預留足夠時間已確保您在旅遊之前獲得簽證。 請不要忘記在護照背面填寫緊急聯絡人的資料。

Allianz Travel Insure Portal - reiseversicherung-annullationsversicherung-jahresversicherung-familie-580x328

緊急聯絡資料

請把您行程的複印件、酒店聯繫人及您於海外的緊急聯絡方法留下給您的家人或朋友,讓他們知道在緊急情況下怎樣與您聯繫。 如果您已經購買了旅遊保險,最好亦在您出發之前通知他們。

流動電話

如果您計劃把您的本地流動電話帶到海外旅遊,請提前檢查您的流動電話能否在目的地使用。 另外請確保您熟悉在海外旅行時所涉及的漫遊費用。

電器

每個國家均有自己的電源插座和插頭。 無論您攜帶的是流動電話,電風筒,電動牙刷,手提電腦還是電動鬚刨,請確保您已經檢查插頭並且購買適當的插頭轉換器,以便連接電器設備。

金錢

通常情況下,使用國際信用卡和借記卡比在旅途中攜帶現金更有優勢。 除了支付賬單方便之外,在您對旅遊保險提出索償時,您還可以更容易地檢查您的收據。 請注意,您有可能需要提前通知您的銀行關於您外遊的日子。

另一方面,如果你在偏遠地區旅行,這些地方可能沒有自動提款機。 這時候,可能需要準備一定數量的現金。請確保您已將其轉換為目的地的貨幣。

健康

請確保你已經接種了適當的疫苗。 如果您有已存在之傷病情況,最好先從您的醫生那裡取得您最新藥物處方的複印件。 如果您已懷孕,請多加注意,並確保遵照醫生的旅遊建議。

如果您購買了旅遊保險,請確保您已閱讀了有關的保障及條款。

人身安全

請注意,您在旅行期間需要採取一些必要的預防措施。 為了避免成為犯罪的目標,請減少配戴昂貴的首飾或服裝以及不要攜帶大量的現金。

個人行李

需要攜帶什麼行李是取決於您旅遊的目的地。以下是您可能包括在行李中的一些基本配備:

  • 太陽眼鏡
  • 眼鏡,隱形眼鏡
  • 外套/毛衣
  • 額外的電池
  • 太陽油
  • 圍巾
  • 地圖
  • 指南針
  • 拖鞋
  • 手電筒
  • 靠墊枕頭
  • 驅蚊劑

 

諮詢您的醫生

為什麼我們建議您在旅行前拜訪您的醫生?因為這樣可以讓您知道在出遊時大致上可能面臨什麼樣的健康問題。

  • 接種疫苗 - 您的醫生可以幫助您或您孩子獲得旅行所需的正確疫苗和藥物。根據您提供的信息,他們的建議可能會有所不同。他們的建議主要取決於您的健康歷史或病情,年齡,旅遊目的地,旅程長短以及您在旅途中涉及的活動等。
  • 疫苗包括流感、傷寒、肝炎、黃熱病、破傷風、腦膜炎、瘧疾等。這些對於您出遊時非常有用,尤其是當您跟孩子出遊的時候。

對於跟您的醫生談及您旅行計劃這事,千萬不要猶豫。因為他可能因應您要去的地區季節而給予您額外的健康建議,例如購買驅蚊劑,防曬產品,藥膏等。他還會指導您服用藥物的副作用。

乘搭飛機

乘搭飛機是從一個國家到另一個國家最方便的方式,但是同時亦可能對某些人引起一些不適。兩個最經常發生的情況是時差和鼓脹。

以下這些簡單的方法將有助使您於長途飛行中感覺更舒適。我們建議盡量減少食用這些食物和飲品以減少鼓脹的情況。

  • 造成氣體的食品和飲料 - 包括梳打水,豆類,辣椒,口香糖
  • 脫水飲料如咖啡和酒精。脫水會讓您感到不安
  • 高脂肪和高鈉食品,包括炸薯條,漢堡包,捲餅等等。由於飛行高海拔會引致胃部難消化這些食物而導致腹脹
  • 高纖維的水果 - 當中包括蘋果和橙。食物中纖維太多會導致胃部消化不良。另外,這些食物含有很高的維生素C,因此含有一定份量的酸性而令到我們更頻繁地排尿。

飛行中

請預先選擇一個好的座位​​。如果您打算一直睡覺,那麼最好的地方就是靠近窗戶的座位。但是,如果您想要方便到洗手間,或者想要舒展自己,最好選擇近通道座位。

飛機上十分乾燥,為了預防乾燥,請定期補充水份。每2小時喝大量的水。如果您配戴隱形眼鏡,請將其取出或定期使用眼藥水保持眼睛濕潤。

有些人可能會出現暈眩,嘔吐和噁心等暈機症狀。這就是您需要帶上一些非處方藥物的原因,好讓您在需要時可以防止或減少這些問題出現。請了解如何使用急救箱。此外,請盡量避免上面提到的那些食物。

長途飛行的話,我們建議您攜帶頸枕和娛樂套裝。此外,您也可以帶些巧克力作零食或者帶一本書作閱讀之用。

飛機降落時

飛機著地後,不妨稍作休息及做一些伸展動作。 如果您目的地是在不同時區地域的話,您可能會感覺更不適。時差是不可避免的,您唯一可以做的就是慢慢適應當地環境。首先,您只需按照您的生理時鐘進食和睡眠,直至能夠慢慢調整。

如果問題仍然存在,請致電給您的醫生。 這時您可能需要使用您的旅遊保險去幫助解決健康問題。

18-85歲
60天-17歲
亞洲
全球 (北美除外)
全球

如您有任何疑問,歡迎您聯絡我們 
我們樂意為您提供協助
+852 8100 2402
我們對您的承諾

我們的緊急救援熱線每日24小時為您提供緊急支援.

渣打銀行(香港)有限公司(「渣打香港」)為安聯環球企業及專項保險香港分公司(「安聯保險」) 之委任保險代理商。

以上一般保險計劃由安聯環球企業及專項保險香港分公司 (「安聯保險」) 承保。安聯保險乃由香港保險業監管局授權經營一般保險業務。渣打銀行(香港)有限公司(「渣打香港」)為安聯保險之委任保險代理商。在法律允許的範圍內,渣打香港並不對任何人因使用以上資料而承擔任何責任。

符合PCI安全支付標準